News & Events

Elder honored the 1960-61 Basketball team during their season opening game on December 9th.  The 1961 squad was the first Elder basketball team to go undefeated during the regular season and the first Elder basketball team to be rated No. 1 in the state of Ohio.  

Four members of the 1961 team, Tom Apke, Tom Biedenharn, Fritz Meyer and Steve Tensi, are still members of the top 50 all-time career scorers in Elder history.  The team’s head coach, Ray Dieringer was named the Ohio high school basketball coach of the year.  Dieringer will serve as honorary Captain of the Elder team for this season’s opening game.  The players and coaches were introduced at halftime.