News & Events

Maxwell L. Hammersmith, Benjamin J. Merk, Noah A. Peterson and Thomas “Zach” Sullivan have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition.  They will continue to compete for some 8,000 scholarships worth more than $32-million that will be offered this spring by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Representing less than one percent of the nation's high school seniors, all four were named National Merit Semifinalists this past fall for their outstanding score on the PSAT.  

Back in October, William P. Brueggemeyer, Eric R. Huff, Luke F. Jett, Benjamin X. Lee and Spencer T. Niehaus were named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship competition.  Commended students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score.

All of these men are members of Elder’s Honors Program. Graduates from the Honors Program have moved on to prestigious schools across the country, earned significant scholarships, and have been invited to become members of various Honors Programs at their college or university of choice. Honors Program students graduate with an average of $200,000 in college scholarships, and have an average ACT score of 30.  Congratulations, gentlemen!