Elder High School Board of Limited Jurisdiction

Based on the authority granted to the Board of Limited Jurisdiction by the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, the Board is established to act as a decision-making group, responsible for the governance of Elder High School in the best interests of the School and the Archdiocese.
Current Trustees:

Frank Panzeca '76 - Chair
Laura Phillips - Vice-Chair
Aaron Monk '07 - Secretary

Ray Broerman '71
Bruce Broxterman ‘72
John Buttelwerth '75
Joel Handorf ‘90
Rick Kohler '63
Susan Kohorst
Chris Lahni '03
Jorge Lowery
Rob Reid ‘86
Mike Trimpe ‘76
Beth Van Oflen
Tricia Walter

Board Responsibilities:

  • Evaluate and approve the policies of the School and monitor their implementation;
  • Recommend to the Archbishop of Cincinnati proposed changes in the mission statement of the School;
  • Develop and recommend strategic and other short-term and long-range plans;
  • Oversee the areas of strategic planning, mission effectiveness, finance, facilities, development, marketing, and public relations;
  • Establish policies and procedures for the effective operation of the Board;
  • Review annually the performance of the chief executive of the School (i.e. Principal/Head of School);
  • Involvement in Head of School search process;
  • Participate in search committees for other senior staff members as requested;
  • Develop and recommend annual operating and capital budgets to the Archbishop;
  • Maintain connection of the School to the local community;
  • Recommend to the Archbishop nominations for appointment to the Board;
  • Exercise all other powers and carry out all other duties and responsibilities delegated by the Archdiocese;
  • Develop professional relationships with the Head of School and senior staff members.
Non-Voting Trustees:
Brian Flaherty '92
Doug Guenther
Brian Hiles '03
Tom Reiring '88
Kurt Ruffing '81
Dr. Patrick Tucker
Larry Weinheimer '93
Support to the Board:
Kevin Espelage '91, Athletic Director
Matt Flowers '94, Alumni Association
Al Kovacic, Administration
Vince Woodall, Archdiocese of Cincinnati
Jane Timon, Administrative Suport

School Administration

List of 11 members.

  • Photo of Kurt Ruffing

    Mr. Kurt Ruffing 

    513-921-3744 ext 3405
  • Photo of Brian Flaherty

    Mr. Brian Flaherty 

    Asst. Principal, Dean of Students, Track & Field
    513-921-3744 ext 3409
  • Photo of Patrick Tucker

    Dr. Patrick Tucker 

    Asst. Principal, Dean of Academics
  • Photo of Brian Bill

    Mr. Brian Bill 

    Alumni Director
  • Photo of Kevin Espelage

    Mr. Kevin Espelage 

    Athletic Director
  • Photo of Jennifer Graham

    Mrs. Jennifer Graham 

    Director of School Counseling
  • Photo of Doug Guenther

    Mr. Doug Guenther 

    Business Manager
  • Photo of Brian Hiles

    Mr. Brian Hiles 

    Director of Admissions
  • Photo of Albert Kovacic

    Mr. Albert Kovacic 

    Campus Minister
  • Photo of Trina Niemer

    Mrs. Trina Niemer 

    Dir. of Marketing & Annual Fund
  • Photo of Thomas Reiring

    Mr. Thomas Reiring 

    Director of Development